Zonja Capalini

“We believe this is fair”, or how to make business customers and creative residents equally angry

“We believe this is fair”
M. Linden, in A Letter to Second Life Residents

0376

Let me tell you a story. I work for a company, let’s call it “C”. C had two full sims in Second Life, C1 and C2; C1 was mainly used for education (a very few hours a week, maximum 10 avies), and C2 was used to hold vanity offices for C’s top executives. At the same time, I had two normal sims, Condensation Land and Condensation Beach, which I was renting to some SL and RL friends and to some of C’s employees, losing a small amount of money every month in the process, but it was all so fun that I really didn’t care very much.
Then came the announcement and later the price change: you could have an OpenSpace, 1/4 of a sim for 1/4 of the price, this seemed fair, allowed finer control of the investments, to landscape more beautifully, to make places less congested, etc.
[As an aside: I don’t think you can “abuse” a program. You can abuse a child, your husband or a resident, but not a program. Think about “abusing Excel” — it’s simply ludicrous.]
I met with C’s executives, and decided to do the following: C2 would be converted into four openspaces; three of them would be put around C1 and would hold, apart from the then current offices for C’s executives, more vanity offices for C’s personnel; one would be sold to me and become part of the Condensation Archipielago.
C thus paid US$ 250 to Linden Lab for the conversion, 40 hours of my time = € 4000, and was unable to use C2 during the two months it took for the Lindens to process the ticket, but had to pay for it anyway (= 2 * US$ 300); when you convert an island to an openspace you can’t keep the terraforming or the contents, all is wiped in the process.
C had invested or lost 250+4000*1,2+2*300 = 5650 US$, and had sold one void (US$ 250), but had now 256K sqm instead of 128, everything was nicer and ampler, and everybody was happy.
On my side, I received the new island (Condensation South), for which I paid US$250 to C and US$ 100 to Linden Lab, and I started to convert Condensation Beach to a void. Condensation Beach was hosting one of my best customers, my RL friend and fellow flickerite Ludmilla Writer. Since the conversion to a void wipes the island and Ludmilla is an active resident who can’t be without a proper house, I ordered another void (Condensation SouthWest), for which I paid US$ 250 more, terraformed it, and helped Ludmilla to move temporarily to it while her former place of residence was converted. Then I paid US$ 250 more to have Condensation Beach converted, waited two months more, during which I could not use a full sim I was paying for (US$ 600), then got four openspace sims; one was Condensation Beach, another was Condensation North, and the other two I sold in the market, for which I got US$500. Then I helped Ludmilla to terraform her Island, terraformed the other three islands, and gave my tenants nice terrains on the new islands. Most of my tenants never log in, but they kept paying me because it was not expensive and it was nice and fashionable to have a small piece of land in Second Life. I have not made an exact calculation of the amount of time I invested in terraforming the Condensation archipielago, but it’s for sure more than 100 hours; let’s put it down 100 hours for the sake of the calculations.
Of course it was my free time, but if I had been working this would have costed € 10,000 = S$ 12,000.
Ludmilla, who’s not a rich person IRL by the way, was making a big effort to be able to pay for her own island, but she was so proud of it that she spent a lot of L$ in buying trees and stuff to make it beautiful anyway.
So I had invested or lost 250*3 + 300*2 + 12,000 = 13,100 US$ and had earned US$ 500 by selling my two remaining islands, but everybody was happy: the new islands were wonderful and although I had put a huge amount of time in terraforming them, everything was so beautiful and my friend Ludmilla was blooming.
We then threw out a party for the opening of Ludmilla’s island:
Since Ludmilla’s island was an openspace, we made the party in Condensation Land, which is a full sim, so as not to stress the lesser sims (yes we were caring!).
A month later Linden Lab announced the price changes and the protests started:

0369 - Second Life needs YOU!

Now I almost lost C as a customer. C feels that they have been scammed, that they have spent US$ 5,650 for nothing, have asked me to downsize their presence in SL to one sim instead of 4 (most of the vanity offices will simply dissappear and some will be relocated to C1), are actively considering the possibility of renting a void from me if the conditions for Homesteads are confirmed, and have asked me to research other virtual worlds. They feel abused and threatened, they don’t want to have all the eggs put in the same basket any longer, and will migrate to another virtual world as soon as it’s technically feasible; they trust Linden Lab no more. They have started to ask themselves why does one need a realistic, vibrant environment just to hold meetings and give some classes, and will start to use SL in a more “practical” way. “Practical” meaning that they won’t care any longer that it’s realistic or beautiful, as they previously did; it will be much cheaper that way.
In the Condensation archipielago, things are not much better. Most of my tenants are not willing to accept a price increase; they were not using their land much anyway, so that’s a good occasion to become homeless altogether. Ludmilla is about to hang herself; she’s invested a lot of her precious money and now she feels it’s been for nothing; she will not be able to stand a 66% price increase, and she’ll have to downsize her terrain. I will buy one of C’s unused openspaces, pack it with the North, South, and SouthWest islands in a full sim, and attempt to sell it, if there’s still a sim market after the current debacle. I will only keep Condensation Land and Condensation Beach at the moment; it might well be that later on I sell Condensation Beach, if Ludmilla cannot pay for it, or abandon land in SL completely.
Before the crisis the Lindens were getting 4*300 = US$ 1200/mo from C and me combined; after the crisis they’ll be getting 2*300 + 125 = US$ 725, or 300+2*125 = US$ 550 if C1 is converted to a homestead, or 300+125 = US$ 425 if Ludmilla finally decides to abandon Condensation Beach. In the best scenario for them, they’ll be making (1200-725) * 12 = US$ 5,700 less a year. If we sum this loss of income to the money lost by C and by me, that’s 5,650+13,100+5,700 = US$ 24,450 of collective loss in a year. And 9 islands will become 3 islands, maybe two. Less landmass. Less SL. Less world. And less “residents”.
I’ve become interested in other virtual worlds. Some days ago I just ordered a private cluster of 4 sims in Openlife. I intend to recreate the full Condensation archipielago there; I’ll be posting the results to Flickr.
Now I understand that Second Life is switching from a social experiment to a business platform. The point is that, as C people keep saying lately, to have Immersive Workspaces-like meetings you don’t need ultrarealistic environments, WindLight, expensive furniture or good looking avatars. In that market, a new world will surely appear, much more lightweight, sooner or later. The SL client is overkill, and SLim is simply ridiculous.
On the other hand, SL richness come from the fact that people like us, the creative people they are now neglecting and abusing, love to live in SL and make it beautiful and take pics and videoss of it. If we get fed up, we will migrate to another world, and then the Lindens will have an empty world that nobody will use, not even entreprises, because SL is overkill for the enterprise.
Me personally I’m much more than fed up. I’m infuriated.
Some links:

November 6, 2008 - Posted by | Abuse, Second Life, SL Exodus

17 Comments »

  1. Zonja: Estoy realmente emocionada con este resumen de la historia e impactada con la claridad con la que se puede expresar la repulsa a esta horrorosa y abusiva situación.
    El engaño ha consistido en “pescar” al cliente para luego cambiar las cláusulas del contrato impunemente, como en un estado totalitario, donde el abuso puede aparecer a la vuelta de cualquier esquina.
    Me he preguntado: ¿Me equivoqué al pensar que SL era un mundo vivible?
    ¿Es acaso sólo una “República” como las que abundan en RL donde sus dirigentes pueden hacer a su antojo sin que la vida de sus habitantes cuente para nada?
    En la situación en la que nos han metido, no sólo perderemos dinero y horas de trabajo, sino que esta impunidad parece golpear duramente el entusiasmo inical, la pasión por la belleza de nuestros lugares, el compromiso férreo con nuestra segunda vida y, lo que es aún peor, nos obligará a tomar distancia con las cosas que amábamos y por las que estábamos dispuestos a trabajar, a veces, duramente (yo sé las horas que tú has trabajado para que Condensation sea lo que es)para que ese mundo que a nosotras nos daba tantísimas alegrías fuera posible también para otros…
    Lástima, Zonja… No sé si será factible continuar aquí. Lo que sí es posible es que, repuestos del duro cachetazo, podamos seguir construyendo… donde sea. Por que eso no nos lo pueden arrebatar.

    (Siento mucho no poder escribir esto en inglés)

    Comment by Ludmilla Writer | November 6, 2008

  2. your storry is disappointing just like to many others.
    i feel for you and the people around you.
    lls policy and customers treatment sucks big time!

    Comment by Tam Congrejo | November 6, 2008

  3. Even if I’m not in SL anymore I really feel for you.
    I loved the place, I loved the variety and creativity of the lands.
    I wish you luck with the whole situation.

    Oracolo

    Comment by Oracolo Janus | November 7, 2008

  4. […] Zonja Capalini « “We believe this is fair”, or how to make business customers and creative residents equa… […]

    Pingback by Installing OpenSim in Windows XP with MySQL. « Zonja Capalini | January 3, 2009

  5. […] up with Linden’s idea of “fair” Miss Zonja Capalini wrote out an easy-to-execute tutorial on Installing OpenSim on Windows XP with […]

    Pingback by How to OpenSim DIY on Windows XP | VintFalken.com | January 4, 2009

  6. […] hands of the service provider, not the customer, and it’s easy to for the service providers to scam their customers. Besides, if OpenSim has to become the 3D web, one doesn’t understand clearly why having some […]

    Pingback by HyperGrid, or how to teleport between WORLDS using OpenSim « Zonja Capalini | January 5, 2009

  7. Zonja our story is very similar, we had 7 sims in SL now we are down to 1. I think Lindens have made us a favor we now have a better environment in Opensim, we can get on with what we like doing, creating content and making friends.
    Opensim is a far better place for business we have more control of our final product here
    Thank you for an excellent article I agree 100%

    Comment by Per Pegler | March 4, 2009

  8. Yup, my customers went from 1 full sim and 3 openspaces to a single homestead, which is in turn being phased out as the six-months contract expires, so no more SL for them: they are happily working in OpenSim now. And the Condensation archipielago has been downsized from 1 full sim and 4 openspaces to 1 sim + 2 homesteads; the homesteads will go soon too, altho I’m reluctant to abandon Condensation Land for sentimental reasons. The Lindens get 885 US$/mo less, two angry customers, and a lot of propaganda for Opensim. Isn’t that smart from a commercial point of view? ;-)

    And yes they’ve done us a favour, and a very big one at that. Opensim is wonderfully stable for small configurations, and with hypergrid it will get still better. I’ve recreated the full Condensation archipielago in Opensim and I’m more than satisfied with the results.

    And, of course, when you see what you can get with Opensim… OARs to save/restore/move full regions, experimental load-inv and save-inv for inventories, database backup… Full control over your productions… And then you realize that SL is grossly overpriced… Oh well. For us it was the end of innocence: a bitter but enlightening experience. :-)

    Comment by Zonja Capalini | March 4, 2009

  9. OpenSim is a big step forward. Troppo Grid has 3×3 regions, you are right for a small grid Opensim is surprisingly stable.
    We have had no more problems in Opensim than we had in SL, the OAR command “save and load” is awesome, makes it easy to run a copy of online world on your own computer…….. I was amazed this weekend when the entire Outisland region was recreated on my home computer, populating the database in an orderly fashion scripts and textures all working 100% . Outisland has 6000 prims it was very impressive to see it work.
    The Hypergrid will soon be linking lots of mini grids together and maybe we are looking at the very beginning of a 3D web?
    Now we need a Dream Weaver type of application to be able to synchronise the work we do locally with the online world…. Like a mini OAR command for recent updates mmmm…. I might be dreaming? Thank you Linden Lab you pointed us in the right direction, like you Zonja we are still part of SL we keep Troppo Island in SL but for sentimental reasons mostly SL is the place where it all started at least for our team.

    Comment by Per Pegler | March 5, 2009

  10. […] reasons  Zonja Capalini has an excellent post about a very similar situation, I could not express it better […]

    Pingback by Troppo The Blog » Design and Marketing in SL and RL » Blog Archive » Troppo Grid and OpenSim our new Home! | March 16, 2009

  11. […] months ago, I blogged about the Openspace fiasco and how it made business customers and creative residents equal….  In case you’ve not read the post, let me make a quick summary: I work for a company which […]

    Pingback by The Openspace fiasco: six months later « Zonja Capalini | April 30, 2009

  12. Hi Zonja. I’m sorry to communicate with you this way but you have a hidden profile in SL so I cannot send you a notecard.

    I have been trying to install your StillWater advanced water settings into my second life application without success. I did create a xml file with the html you provided in Word and dragged it into the windlight/water folder but it did not appear when I signed into SL. So I decided I would create it manually in the window by extracting the settings from the html file. Easy I thought in theory but not quite so in practice. I have them all except the water fog colour which shows four values of 1 but there are only three boxes for Red Green and Blue. What is the fourth one for and do you leave hue, sat and lum at the default settings? The other problem is the normal map settings on the image page: 95c542dd-3911-795a-2d8d-7ee6939bc67e. I thought the normal map was a texture so this makes no sense to me.

    I wonder if you could send me the original manual settings you used from Oracola Janus either to nobodyimportantATshawDOTca or to JMB Balogh in SL.

    Thanks so much, if you can help and sorry to be a dolt. This the first time I have attempted to change the advanced water settings.
    regards JMB Balogh

    Comment by jmb | May 20, 2009

  13. @jmb: Ok, I wrote a small step-by-step guide as a page on this blog and places it under “Resources”: https://zonjacapalini.wordpress.com/mirror-water/

    Enjoy! :-)

    Comment by Zonja Capalini | May 25, 2009

  14. […] it could not be linked into a single object. The bottle stayed there several months, and when the Openspace fiasco started we had to concentrate in a single island and I had to delete it because Condensation Land […]

    Pingback by 2889: Working with very large linksets in Opensim « Zonja Capalini | July 20, 2009

  15. […] of the material covered in the interview can also be found here and here, but the presentation is different — being in an interview format, the reading is […]

    Pingback by An interview by Alyne Dagger (with some final remarks) « Zonja Capalini | September 2, 2009

  16. […] Land started as an experiment in looking for alternatives to Second Life after the OpenSpace fiasco. The initial six months of this process are explained in detail here. Shortly after writing this […]

    Pingback by Condensation Land: A status report « Zonja Capalini | August 25, 2010

  17. […] one of the oldest grids around, and for me, personally, both Zonja’s blog entries about her departure from SL and arrival in OpenSim, and the example she set with Condensation, have been incredibly helpful […]

    Pingback by This weekend at TGIB: First HG 1.5 tour and Skin class : Three Guides In Byzantium | March 26, 2011


Leave a Reply

